Get involved in YOUR city and locality - Improve Your World
Get involved in YOUR city and locality - Improve Your World
Get involved in YOUR city and locality 
Improve Your World Home | About Us | Sitemap | Search | Contact Us 

65 Parsi Community Charitable Trusts

The Tata trusts

Sir Dorabji Tata Trust
This multipurpose trust was established in 1932 when Sir Dorabji Tata committed all his wealth to it. The trust is best known for promoting six pioneering institutions of national importance. Four of these were established in Mumbai: the Tata Institute of Social Sciences (in 1936); the Tata Memorial Centre for Cancer Research and Treatment (1941); the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (1945); and the National Centre for the Performing Arts (1966). The National Institute of Advanced Studies (1988) and the Sir Dorabji Tata Centre for Research in Tropical Diseases (1999) are in Bangalore.

Jamsetji Tata Trust
Set up in 1974, this trust is named after the founder of the Tata Group, Jamsetji Tata. Established to mark the centenary year of the first Tata enterprise, it bestows grants in areas where innovative efforts are being made.

J. N. Tata Endowment
Established in 1892, the trust funds higher education for deserving Indian scholars. The trust has supported 3,500 scholars and awarded more than Rs 68 million to promising students from various strata of society.

J. R. D. and Thelma J. Tata Trust
Set up in 1991 by J. R. D. Tata with his and his wife's personal wealth, the trust works to uplift women and children.

J. R. D. Tata Trust
Established in 1944, this trust supports, by way of institutional donations, the advancement of learning. It also gives research grants and scholarships, provides relief in the wake of natural calamities, and backs social-welfare projects and philanthropic activities.

Lady Meherbai D. Tata Education Trust
This trust was set up in 1932 by Sir Dorabji Tata in memory of his wife, Lady Meherbai Tata. It helps women graduates go abroad to study social work, and has thus far supported 228 women graduates (with total disbursements of Rs 30,70,000).

Lady Tata Memorial Trust
Established in 1932 by Sir Dorabji Tata in memory of his wife Lady Meherbai Tata, this trust promotes research in diseases of the blood. It disburses funds mainly by way of international awards, which are decided by a scientific advisory committee in London. A fifth of the trust's income is expended on Indian awards for research on the alleviation of human suffering.

M. K. Tata Trust
This trust was set up in 1958 by Minocher K. Tata with his personal resources. The objectives of the trust are the advancement of learning in all fields by way of research grants and scholarships; and providing medical and other relief in the aftermath of natural calamities.

Sir Ratan Tata Trust
The trust was established in 1918 in accordance with directives in Sir Ratan Tata’s will. It utilises its funds in five areas: basic and advanced (postgraduate) education; primary and preventive health; rural livelihoods and communities; arts and culture; and public initiatives. Preference is given to projects based in rural India, and those that involve the advancement of women and children.

R. D. Tata Trust
Set up in 1990, the trust promoted the advancement of learning by way of institutional grants. It also backs social-welfare projects and philanthropic activities.

Tata Social Welfare Trust and Tata Education Trust
Established in 1990, the trust encourages the advancement of learning in all fields by way of research grants and scholarships. It also provides medical and other relief to people who have suffered in natural calamities.

Bombay House,
24, Homi Mody Street,
Fort, Mumbai 400 001,
Tel: + 91-22-5665 8282

 A H Wadia Charitable Trust
 A H Wadia Charities
 Aloo & Minocher Dinshaw Trust
 ASF Patel Charities
 Bai Hamabai Framji Cama Charity Trust
 Bai Hilla Rustomji Buhariwala Charity Trust
 Bai Hilla Rustomji Buhariwalla Charity Trust
 Bai Homai Dorabji Choksi Trust
 Bai Maneckbai Marzban Trust
 Bai Ratanbai D Mehta Charity Trust
 Bomanji Dubash Trust
 Cama Charity Trust
 Cowasjee Jehangir Charitable Trust
 Cowasji Pallonji Kavarana Charity Trust
 D N Dinshaw Trust
 Dr M M Gimi Trust
 Eduljee Dinshaw Trust
 Framji Pestonji Divecha Charity Trust
 Freny Shiawax Mistry Education Trust
 HSC Trust
 J A Wadia Charitable Trust
 Jagruti Trust
 Jamshed & Shirin Guzder Trust
 Jeejeebhoy Charities
 Kerawala Charity Trust
 Khurshed & Tehmurasp Mulla Trust
 Kuvarbai Pajnigara Education Trust
 Lotus Trust
 Maneckji & Shirinbai Netarwala Trust
 Marshall Charitable Foundation
 Marshall Charitable Foundation
 Marshall Charitable Foundation
 Mehran Edulji Billimoria Charity Trust
 N M Wadia Charitable Trust
 N M Wadia Charities
 Ness Wadia Foundation
 Netarwala Foundation
 Neville Wadia Charity Trust
 P E Polson Charity Trust
 Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry Charity Trust
 Paragaon Charitable Trust
 Parsi Punchayet Funds & Properties
 Pirojsha Godrej Foundation
 R A Dubash Charities
 R D Sethna Trust
 Ratanbai & Hormusji K Bhabha Charities
 Ratanbai & Jehangir Pardiwalla Charitable Trust
 S R Bomanji Trust
 Seth Fali Meherji Variava Charitable Trust
 Seth Jeejeebhoy Dadabhoy Charity Trust
 Seth Mancherji Pallonji Contractor Funds
 Seth Pestonji F Davar Charitable Trust
 Seth Pirojshah Godrej Foundation
 Seth Shapoorji Pallonji Mistry & Bai Alamai Shapoorji Mistry Trust
 Seth Sorabji & Coomibai Mistry Trust
 Shirinbhai Sorabji Kharas Charitable Trust
 Sir D M Petit Charity Trust
 Sir Dorabji Tata Trust
 Sir Hormusji Mody Trust of Hongkong
 Sir Ness Wadia Foundation
 Sir Ratan Tata Trust
 Sohrabji Behramji Bhabha Trust
 Sorabji Titina Charity Trust
 Tata Chem Golden Jubilee Foundation
 Y.C.Z.A Educational & Charitable Trust

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.
Indeed it is the only thing that ever has. Dr Margret Mead.